pictures-of-newzealand.com » Travelogue New Zealand: Akaroa, Christchurch

Skip navigation

RucksackUseful

CampervanCampervan Tips

Feedback

Travelogue New Zealand

previous previousOverviewnext next

Nov 20
Mon

Lazy in Akaroa

A little more Akaroa. Instead of going for a hike we lounge in the campervan. Even if the weather is nice! In the evening we go down to the village. A walk to the cemetery – the gravestones are so old and fascinating, I take some photos. The cemetery is on a hill near the lighthouse and you can see the ocean from there. The Madeira Bar is empty today.

AkaroaEvening walk in Akaroa · more Akaroa pictures more pictures

Nov 21
Tue

Last Station Christchurch

The most expensive campground of the whole trip is our last one in Christchurch. They charge $36 per night. We don't have much choice, the place is quite near the airport and we need a dump station before we take the van back. So the Top 10 Holiday Meadow Park isn't what I'd call a beautiful spot, but it's clean and practical. A transfer station for arriving and departing travellers, disillusioning after all the picturesque places by the sea. The bus connection to the city is perfect. The price for a single ticket is $2.50 and the bus stops right at the campsite. When the people get off the bus they say thanks to the friendly bus driver. So we do as well.

At first glance Christchurch doesn't knock our socks off. It doesn't appear to be as cosy and typically English as the guidebook made us believe. But maybe we are simply saturated by all the new impressions we've had during the last 6 weeks.

previous previousOverviewnext next

We're here!

neuseelandbilder.com » Reisebericht Neuseeland: Akaroa, Christchurch

Navigation überspringen

RucksackPraktisch

CampervanCampervan Tipps

Rund um Neuseeland

Feedback

Reisebericht Neuseeland

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Mo 20
Nov

Faulenzen in Akaroa

Ein bisschen Akaroa. Wir gehen nicht wandern, sondern faulenzen im Wagen. Obwohl das Wetter schön ist! Abends noch mal runter ins Städtchen, ein Spaziergang zum Friedhof – die Grabsteine sind so alt und fotogen und vom Friedhof hat man einen Blick aufs Meer – zum Leuchtturm, dann ein Bier in der heute ganz leeren Madeira Bar.

AkaroaAbendspaziergang in Akaroa · mehr Akaroa Bilder weiter

Di 21
Nov

Letzte Station Christchurch

Der mit $36 pro Nacht teuerste Campingplatz unseres Urlaubs erwartet uns in Christchurch. Man hat nicht so die große Wahl, der Platz ist halt recht nahe am Flughafen und wir brauchen noch mal eine Dump Station, bevor wir den Wagen abgeben. Der Top 10 Holiday Meadow Park ist also nicht unbedingt schön, aber sauber und praktisch. Eine Durchgangsstation für Ankommende und Abreisende. Ernüchternd, nach all den paradiesischen Plätzen am Meer. Doch die Busverbindung zur City ist gut. Ein Single Ticket kostet $2,50 und die Haltestelle ist direkt am Campingplatz. Beim Aussteigen bedanken und verabschieden sich die Leute beim freundlichen Busfahrer. Wir auch.

Christchurch haut uns auf den ersten Eindruck nicht so vom Hocker. So typisch englisch und gemütlich wie der Reiseführer denken macht, wirkt es auf uns nicht. Aber vielleicht sind wir auch einfach satt von all den Eindrücken.

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Hier sind wir!