pictures-of-newzealand.com » Travelogue New Zealand: Oakura, Bay of Islands and Doubtless Bay

Skip navigation

RucksackUseful

CampervanCampervan Tips

Feedback

Travelogue New Zealand

previous previousOverviewnext next

Oct 18
Wed

First Kauris, the Bay of Islands and a pirates beach at Doubtless Bay

In cheerful spirits we continue driving north. At first we drive to the little A H Reed Memorial Kauri Park (from Mill Rd turn right into Whareora Rd) which is only 3 kms from the city. You walk partly on a boardwalk which is in the tree tops and it's nice and calm with fern trees and other huge ferns, totaras and some kauri trees. The first three kauri we marvel at are really impressive. The trunk is gigantic and feels like cool, smooth stone. We definitely want to see the true giants of the forest in Waipoua Kauri Forest on our continuing journey. The scent in the forest is spicy. The smell! Sometimes the smell of flowers is so intense that I think there's somebody around wearing a strong perfume.

Oakura Bay Stop at Oakura Bay · more Oakura pictures more pictures

Again we're following SH1 and then the scenic Russel Rd which turns right off SH1 at Whakapara to the Bay of Islands. On the way we experience variable kinds of vegetation, cows under palms, narrow roads surrounded by native bush, green hills, gnarled and surreal looking trees in large meadows. We have a break at Oakura Bay. The road leads directly along the beach and you can simply park there. After a beach walk we make coffee and sit outside at a wooden table, writing travel diary. That's when we have our first acquaintance with the sandflies. Indeed, they don't come in swarms but they go straight for our feet and socks can't stop them.

Bay of Islands – Russell The Christ Church in historic Russell · more Bay of Islands pictures more pictures

Next we visit historic Russell in the Bay of Islands. One of the historic buildings is Christ Church, the oldest surviving church in New Zealand, built in 1836. In the little cemetery in front of the church, the interesting inscriptions on the old gravestones remind of all the people resting here: Māori, early settlers, whale catchers, sailors. The small church looks bright, homely and comfortable inside: wooden floors and furniture cushions on the benches with colorful pictures of kiwi and rainbows.

We cross the Bay of Islands on a Fullers ferry boat. You don't have to wait too long for it, it's like taking a bus. As we're leaving, the sun comes out again – so at least we get to see the brilliant colours while crossing the bay. We take SH10 to Doubtless Bay (which got it's name from Captain Cook who decided it was doubtless that it was a bay). We park at Coopers Beach and it's gorgeous! A beach like one out of a pirate movie! A golden stripe of powder sand, the turquoise blue water laps gently onto the beach and the sun is still shining. Far it's full length of 2.5 km the beach is surronded by mighty pohutukawa. The trees lie on the beach with their large gnarly branches. They make a shady place to sit down and enjoy the scenery.

Doubtless Bay – Coopers Beach Heavenly Coopers Beach · more Doubtless Bay pictures more pictures

After an extensive beach walk and a dramatic sunset we decide to stay here overnight. There's a little carpark right above the beach. When you find a place like this you know you are lucky to have a campervan.

previous previousOverviewnext next

We're here!

neuseelandbilder.com » Reisebericht Neuseeland: Oakura, Bay of Islands und Doubtless Bay

Navigation überspringen

RucksackPraktisch

CampervanCampervan Tipps

Rund um Neuseeland

Feedback

Reisebericht Neuseeland

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Mi 18
Okt

Erste Kauris, die Bay of Islands und ein Piratenstrand an der Doubtless Bay

Guter Dinge geht es weiter gen Norden. Von Whangarei aus fahren wir zuerst in den nur 3 km entfernten kleinen A H Reed Memorial Kauri Park (von der Mill Rd rechts in die Whareora Rd abbiegen), den man teilweise auf Holzstegen durchläuft und sehr beschaulich ist. Riesenfarne, Farnbäume, Totaras und eben einige Kauribäume gibt es hier zu bewundern. Die ersten drei Kauris, die wir hier sehen, beeindrucken uns schon sehr. Der Stamm ist so mächtig und fühlt sich an wie kühler Stein. Auf unserer weiteren Reise wollen wir uns im Waipoua Kauri Forest unbedingt noch die wahren Waldriesen ansehen. Der Geruch im Wald ist würzig. Überhaupt die Düfte hier! Manchmal steigen mir Blütendüfte so intensiv in die Nase, dass ich denke, es sei jemand mit starkem Parfum in der Nähe, bis ich mich vom Gegenteil überzeuge.

Oakura Bay Pause an der Oakura Bay · mehr Oakura Bilder weiter

Wieder folgen wir dem SH1 und ab Whakapara der Russel Rd zur Bay of Islands. Unterwegs erleben wir eine wild wechselnde Vegetation, Kühe unter Palmen, enge Straßen von Regenwald gesäumt, grünes Hügelland, irreal anmutende, knorrige Bäume auf weiten Wiesen. Wir machen eine Pause an der Oakura Bay, eine kleine Straße führt direkt am schönen Strand entlang und wir können einfach am Rand parken. Nach einem Strandspaziergang kochen wir Kaffee und verweilen hier ein wenig, schreiben Reisetagebuch an einem Holztisch. Hier machen wir auch unsere erste Bekanntschaft mit den Sandflies. Sie kommen zwar nicht in Schwärmen, doch gehen zielstrebig auf die Füße los – Socken sind da kein Hindernis.

Bay of Islands – Russell Die Christ Church im historischen Städtchen Russell · mehr Bay of Islands Bilder weiter

Als nächstes sehen wir uns den historische Ort Russell in der Bay of Islands an. Hier steht die älteste Kirche Neuseelands, die Christ Church von 1836. Auf dem kleinen Friedhof vor der Kirche erinnern interessante Inschriften auf alten Grabmälern an hier bestattete Māori, frühe Siedler, Walfänger und Seeleute. Innen ist die Kirche sehr einfach, schön hell und freundlich, viel Holz, auf den Sitzbänken Kissen mit bunten Motiven wie Kiwis und Regenbögen.

Wir überqueren die Bay of Islands mit einer Fullers Fähre, man muss kaum warten, das ist hier wie Bus fahren. Jetzt, wo wir weiterfahren, lässt die Sonne sich wieder blicken. So sehen wir wenigstens beim Übersetzen die prächtigen Farben der Bucht. Weiter geht es über den SH10 zur Doubtless Bay, die so heisst, weil Captain Cook sie zweifellos als eine Bay befand. Wir parken hier am Coopers Beach und es ist herrlich! Ein Strand wie aus einem Piratenfilm! Ein goldener Streifen Pulversand, seicht abgehendes, türkisblaues Wasser und immer noch Sonne. Der Strand ist in seiner gesamten Länge von 2,5 km gesäumt von mächtigen Pohutukawas. Die Bäume liegen halb auf dem Strand, so dass man dort Schatten findet und sich in ihre riesigen, knorrigen Äste legen kann.

Doubtless Bay – Coopers Beach Am traumhaften Coopers Beach · mehr Doubtless Bay Bilder weiter

Nach einem ausgiebigen Strandgang und einem roten Sonnenuntergang übernachten wir auf dem Parkplatz. Wenn man Orte findet wie diesen, schätzt man sich glücklich, mit dem Campervan unterwegs zu sein.

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Hier sind wir!