pictures-of-newzealand.com » Travelogue New Zealand: Doubtless Bay, Karikari Peninsula, Maitai Bay

Skip navigation

RucksackUseful

CampervanCampervan Tips

Feedback

Travelogue New Zealand

previous previousOverviewnext next

Oct 19
Thu

A beautiful campground at Maitai Bay on Karikari Peninsula

Waking up at Coopers Beach. It's cloudy again. I walk on the beach which has become much wider at low tide. I walk up and down, take photos and collect some shells. There's a swarm of little Silvereyes and Bar-tailed Godwits in the pohutukawa tree tops. Meanwhile, Ralph is talking to a gardener who works here and is content with both his job and money. The gardener raves about the soon to be blooming New Zealand Christmas trees (pohutukawa) and tells us that it's going to be very hot here in a few weeks.

Coopers Beach Morning at Coopers Beach · more Doubtless Bay pictures more pictures

I hardly want to leave this place, but we decide to head for Matai Bay, a twin bay on Karikari Peninsula (SH10 then Inland Rd). Right at the bay is a large green DOC campsite. The fee is $8 pp. You simply put it into an envelope, throw it into a box at the entry and fix a note on your car. There's no office at most of the DOC campgrounds. The site is basic, there's no power or hot water but we don't mind. We like it at once and park on a lush meadow with shrubs and trees all around. Except for our van, there's only a giant Bedford bus.

At once we are welcomed by a boy on a bike who wants to know if there are any children with us. As we have no children, we gain favour by admiring Harry's secret place and some tricks with his bike.

Karikari Peninsula – Maitai Bay Harry at the camping site · more Karikari Peninsula pictures more pictures

Next we explore Matai Bay which is said to be the most beautiful bay in Karikari. We have no doubt about that. White powdery sand, rocks, little islands and headlands and on top of this there's a very special light which is so intense! Like the weather, the light conditions are changing all the time.

The evening light and the sunset are fabulous. While photographing ,I get to know Ted, our neighbour from the Bedford bus, and a woman from Mönchengladbach in Germany. She's been travelling and living in her car for 3 months and she's a little envious of us when I tell her we've already seen some dolphins (which she has not – so far). Ted is a freelance writer with a good sense of humour. He's been living in the bus with his wife Sally and the boy Harry since they sold their house in the South Island a few years ago. Now they are moving people and say there is nothing they miss.

Karikari Peninsula – Maitai Bay Sunset at Maitai Bay · more Karikari Peninsula pictures more pictures

Tonight we admire heaven's tent so lucid and with constellations we don't see at home.

previous previousOverviewnext next

We're here!

neuseelandbilder.com » Reisebericht Neuseeland: Doubtless Bay, Karikari Peninsula, Maitai Bay

Navigation überspringen

RucksackPraktisch

CampervanCampervan Tipps

Rund um Neuseeland

Feedback

Reisebericht Neuseeland

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Do 19
Okt

Ein schöner Campingplatz an der Maitai Bay auf der Karikari Peninsula

Aufwachen am Coopers Beach. Es ist wieder bewölkt. Den Strand, der heute früh bei Ebbe viel breiter ist als gestern, in beide Richtungen abgelaufen, fotografiert und Muscheln gesammelt. In den Bäumen ein Schwarm kleiner Silvereyes, am Strand Bar-tailed Godwits. Ralph hat sich in der Zeit mit einem hier beschäftigten Gärtner unterhalten, der «zufrieden ist und gut verdient». Er hat ihm von der Pracht der Christmas Trees vorgeschwärmt und erzählt, im Sommer, noch ein paar Wochen, werde es hier superheiss.

Coopers Beach Morgens am Coopers Beach · mehr Doubtless Bay Bilder weiter

Ich mag mich von diesem Ort kaum trennen, doch es geht weiter zur Matai Bay, einer Zwillingsbucht auf der Karikari Peninsula, die nördlich die Doubtless Bay begrenzt (SH10, dann Inland Rd). Direkt an der Bay liegt ein riesiger, grüner DOC Campingplatz . Man wirft die Fee von 8 $ pp einfach in einem Umschlag in einen Kasten an der Einfahrt und befestigt einen Zettel am Wagen – auf den DOC Campingplätzen gibt es meist kein Büro. Der Platz ist einfach, es gibt keinen Strom und kein warmes Wasser, was uns nichts ausmacht. Wir fühlen uns auf Anhieb wohl und parken auf einer saftigen Wiese, die von Sträuchern umgeben ist und auf der ausser uns nur noch ein riesiger Bedford Bus steht.

Sofort werden wir von einem Jungen auf einem Fahrrad begrüßt, der wissen möchte, ob wir Kinder dabei haben. Da wir keine vorweisen können, kommen wir in die Gunst, Harry's Geheimversteck und einige Kunststücke auf dem Fahrrad bewundern zu dürfen.

Karikari Peninsula – Maitai Bay Harry auf dem Campingplatz · mehr Karikari Peninsula Bilder weiter

Als nächstes wollen wir die Matai Bay erkunden, die die schönste auf Karikari sein soll, was wir nicht bezweifeln. Wieder weisser Pulversand, immer wieder und an allen Buchten Felsen und kleine Inselchen und Landzungen im Wasser – und dieses Licht hier, so intensiv! Wie das Wetter wechseln auch die Lichtverhältnisse ständig.

Das Abendlicht und der Sonnenuntergang sind fantastisch. Beim Fotografieren mache ich Bekanntschaft mit Ted, unserem Nachbarn aus dem Bedford Bus, und einer Frau aus Mönchengladbach, die seit 3 Monaten im Auto unterwegs und uns beneidet, weil wir schon Delphine gesehen haben. Ted ist ein schreibender, sehr humorvoller Freelancer, der mit seiner Frau Sally und dem Jungen Harry im Bus lebt, sie haben vor ein paar Jahren ihr Haus auf der Südinsel verkauft. Seitdem sind sie Moving People und vermissen nichts.

Karikari Peninsula – Maitai Bay Abendlicht an der Maitay Bay · mehr Karikari Peninsula Bilder weiter

In dieser Nacht genießen wir ein klares, leuchtendes Himmelszelt, eine Kuppel mit unbekannten Sternbildern.

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Hier sind wir!