pictures-of-newzealand.com » Travelogue New Zealand: Otaki

Skip navigation

RucksackUseful

CampervanCampervan Tips

Feedback

Travelogue New Zealand

previous previousOverviewnext next

Nov 05
Sun

Lamb shanks and Guy Fawkes Day in Otaki

Today we have to say goodbye to the beautiful Tongariro National Park, where there's so much to see and to walk and hike. We'd love to stay longer if we had more time. I draw comfort from my decision that this won't be my last stay in New Zealand. It also means to gradually say goodbye to the North Island – we are heading for Wellington now, from where we'll take the ferry across Cook Strait to the South Island. On the way we'll spend one more night but we still don't know where.

Without a destination, we start driving along SH1 and pass Taihape with its smooth green hills and steep, high cliffs (craters?) the colour of sand. We'd like to stay longer here as well, but we want to cover some distance today. The scenery is kind of like a model railway, flecked with countless sheep and cows.

Again we wind up at the West Coast, at the campground of Byron's Resort in Otaki. The place is cosy, the facilities are ok. After arriving – it's evening already – we go for a walk on the beach. There's a lot of driftwood and, right at the water, a huge tree. And, as so often, there's no one except us on the beach. We take some photos.

OtakiOtaki Beach · more Otaki pictures more pictures

We wish to have a luscious diner outside. So far we've cooked honourably by ourselves but the steak we had yesterday in the Discovery Lodge wasn't that satisfying. So we try a second time and enter the restaurant Scuttlebutt - Ale House at Byron’s at the campground. It's cosy. A few men are sitting at the bar having a beer, other guests are dining.

The first bite tells us the lamb shank on kumara mash was the right choice. We are reveling in taste. How delicious is this! The portion is lush, the sauce delicate. The meat is so tender it falls off the bone. They serve it with crunchy vegetables and potato gratin. The price is quite fair at $24.

After dinner we go for a walk to the beach in the dark. There are some parties in the village, here and there little fireworks light up the sky. A family lights fireworks on the beach. Obviously there's reason to celebrate tonight.* Whether we leave or stay tomorrow depends on the weather. The Tararua Forest Park is very close and I'd like to go hiking there. But although it's mild and warm it rains nearly the whole night. I can't sleep. Just as I'm finally falling asleep, the cell phone rings. Ralph's brother is calling from Germany «just to say that things are fine at home!» Drowsy I answer «That's awesome, Andreas, it's just that it's 3 am here.» Nevertheless, we are glad to talk to him. But it's strange to realize how far away home is by now, not just in space but in mind as well ...

* When I was back in Germany, a friend from New Zealand told me it was Guy Fawkes Day.

previous previousOverviewnext next

We're here!

neuseelandbilder.com » Reisebericht Neuseeland: Otaki

Navigation überspringen

RucksackPraktisch

CampervanCampervan Tipps

Rund um Neuseeland

Feedback

Reisebericht Neuseeland

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

So 05
Nov

Treibholz und Lamb Shanks in Otaki

Heute heisst es Abschied nehmen vom schönen Tongariro National Park, in dem es mit mehr Zeit noch so viel zu entdecken und erwandern gäbe. Ich tröste mich damit, dass ich schon beschlossen habe, dass dies nicht mein letzter Aufenthalt in Neuseeland sein wird. Abschied nehmen müssen wir auch allmählich von der Nordinsel, wir sind nun auf dem Weg Richtung Wellington, von wo aus wir mit der Fähre über die Cook Strait zur Südinsel übersetzen werden. Doch heute werden wir irgendwo auf dem Weg noch eine Nacht verbringen.

Ohne festes Ziel fahren wir erstmal los, über den SH1 kommen wir nach Taihape mit den sanften grünen Hügeln und sandfarbenen steilen, hohen Abhängen (Krater?), auch hier wären wir gern länger geblieben, aber wir wollen heute ein paar Kilometer abreissen. Die Landschaft ist modelleisenbahnählich, gesprenkelt mit unzähligen Schafen und Kühen.

Wir landen wieder an der West Coast, auf dem Campingplatz Byron's Resort in Otaki. Der Campground ist gemütlich, die Facilities ok. Nach der Ankunft – es ist schon Abend – machen wir einen Strandspaziergang. Dort liegt viel Treibholz und ein riesiger Baum direkt am Wasser. Und wie so oft ist kein Mensch am Strand ausser uns. Wir fotografieren.

OtakiOtaki Beach · mehr Otaki Bilder weiter

Wir haben Lust auf ein richtig feistes Essen auswärts, meist haben wir ja brav selbst gekocht und das Steak gestern in der Discovery Lodge hatte uns nicht so überzeugt. So nehmen wir heute einen zweiten Anlauf und gehen in das dem Campingplatz angeschlossene Restaurant Scuttlebutt - Ale House at Byron’s. Es ist gemütlich. Ein paar Männer sitzen an der Bar und trinken ein Bier, andere Gäste speisen.

Wir entscheiden uns für die Lamb Shank on kumara mash und schwelgen vom ersten Bissen an. Wie köstlich das ist. Die Portion ist üppig, die Sauce ist super, dazu wird frisches Gemüse und Kartoffelgratin serviert. Das Fleisch fällt fast von allein vom Knochen. Der Preis von 24 $ bzw. 13,50 € ist mehr als fair.

Nach dem Essen gehen wir im Dunkeln nochmal Richtung Strand. In der Siedlung hört man Parties, hier und da erleuchtet ein kleines Feuerwerk den Himmel. Auch eine Familie zündet eines am Strand. Es gibt wohl etwas zu feiern. Ob wir morgen weiterfahren oder noch eine Nacht bleiben, wollen wir vom Wetter abhängig machen. Man könnte von hier aus noch im Tararua Forest Park wandern gehen. Doch es regnet fast die ganze Nacht, wobei das Klima mild und warm ist. Ich kann nicht schlafen. Als ich endlich einnicke, geht das Handy. Ralphs Bruder ruft uns aus Deutschland an und «wollte nur sagen, dass zu Hause alles in Ordnung ist!» Schlaftrunken antworte ich «Super, Andreas, hier ist es gerade 3 Uhr nachts.» Wir freuen uns trotzdem, mit ihm zu sprechen. Doch wie weit weg zu Hause auf einmal ist, nicht nur räumlich gesehen ...

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Hier sind wir!