pictures-of-newzealand.com » Travelogue New Zealand: St Arnaud, Lake Rotoiti

Skip navigation

RucksackUseful

CampervanCampervan Tips

Feedback

Travelogue New Zealand

previous previousOverviewnext next

Nov 11
Sat

St Arnaud – Honeydew and Bellbirds at Lake Rotoiti

Today's destination is the Abel Tasman National Park. But we don't want to drive the whole way back on SH1. In Blenheim we turn onto Inland Road SH63 along Wairau River and Mount Richmond Forest Park. The drive is scenic but we feel tired today. In the afternoon we arrive in Saint Arnaud at beautiful Lake Rotoiti in the Nelson Lakes National Park where we want to take a break. We like this place at once and decide to stay overnight at the DOC Campground Kerr Bay right by the lake.

St ArnaudLake Rotoiti · more St Arnaud pictures more pictures

At the lake are two wooden wharfs. A family has spotted something interesting there, both parents and children are lying on the planks, looking down into the water. 6 large eels are bustling there.

The place is relatively comfortable and – characteristic for DOC Campgrounds – wonderfully located. There's a hot shower and an outdoor kitchen with some sandflies. No office, instead there's a board at the entrance where you put the fee of $12 p.p. into an envelope and throw it into a box.

St ArnaudHiking in Nelson Lakes National Park · more St Arnaud pictures more pictures

There are some walks and tracks starting at the campground. Spontaneously, I walk the Loop Track and then the Honeydew Walk. There's the scent of honey in the air, although you can't see any blossoms. Instead the tree trunks are a black colour, almost like coal. Little insects who produce the honeydew live in the tree trunks. You can see tiny transparent drops, each hanging from something like a hair from the tree trunks. Nectar-eating birds love the honeydew and are all around. Now, in the evening, you can hear the beautiful sound of the Bellbird, and of course there are also Tui. Even a Kākā, who have become very rare, leaps through the treetops.

previous previousOverviewnext next

We're here!

neuseelandbilder.com » Reisebericht Neuseeland: St Arnaud, Lake Rotoiti

Navigation überspringen

RucksackPraktisch

CampervanCampervan Tipps

Rund um Neuseeland

Feedback

Reisebericht Neuseeland

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Sa 11
Nov

St Arnaud – Honigtau und Bellbirds am Lake Rotoiti

Eigentlich wollen wir heute direkt zum Abel Tasman Nationalpark fahren, aber nicht wieder zurück entlang des SH1, sondern ab Blenheim über die Inland Road SH63 entlang des Wairau River und des Mount Richmond Forest Park. Der Weg ist landschaftlich reizvoll, aber wir finden das Fahren heute anstrengend. Nachmittags steuern wir Saint Arnaud am schönen Lake Rotoiti im Nelson Lakes National Park an, um dort eine Pause zu machen und es gefällt uns dort so gut, dass wir beschließen, über Nacht auf dem DOC Campground Kerr Bay direkt am See zu bleiben.

St ArnaudLake Rotoiti · mehr St Arnaud Bilder weiter

Auf den See führen zwei Holzstege. Auf dem ersten hat eine Familie etwas interessantes entdeckt, Eltern und Kinder liegen auf den Holzplanken und schauen ins Wasser. 6 riesige Aale tummeln sich dort.

Der Platz ist verhältnismäßig komfortabel und – typisch für DOC Campgrounds – wunderschön gelegen. Es gibt eine offene Küche, die auch einige Sandflies beherbergt und eine warme Dusche. Ein Office gibt es nicht, die Gebühr von $12 p.P. wird in einen Umschlag gesteckt und in einen Kasten geschmissen.

St ArnaudWandern im Nelson Lakes National Park · mehr St Arnaud Bilder weiter

Direkt vom Campingplatz aus starten einige Walks und Tracks. Ich drehe spontan eine Runde auf dem Loop Track und gehe danach den Honeydew Walk. Dort riecht alles nach Honig, obwohl keine Blüten zu sehen sind. Statt dessen sind die Rinden der Baumstämme schwarz verfärbt, sie sehen aus wie verkohlt. In ihnen wohnt ein kleines Insekt, das den Honeydew produziert. Dieser hängt als durchsichtiges Tröpfchen an einem Faden, der wie ein Tierhaar aussieht, vom Stamm. Und das lieben alle Vögel, die sich von Nektar ernähren, deshalb gibt es hier ausgesprochen viele davon. Der klare Glockenklang des Bellbird ist jetzt am Abend oft zu hören, natürlich ist auch der Tui hier zuhause und sogar ein selten gewordener Kākā hüpft unbeholfen durch die Baumwipfel.

zurück zurückÜbersichtweiter weiter

Hier sind wir!